Tags

, ,

Alice Walker – Pulitzer Prize winner author, advocate for freedom, poet and blogger – has been part of our moral consciousness since the early 1980s and publicly engaged in activism since the early 1960s, inspired by a meeting with Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. In her bio, Walker reflects on a 2008 trip to Gaza: “Going to Gaza was our opportunity to remind the people of Gaza and ourselves that we belong to the same world: the world where grief is not only acknowledged, but shared; where we see injustice and call it by its name; where we see suffering and know the one who stands and sees is also harmed, but not nearly so much as the one who stands and sees and says and does nothing.”

Enjoy these poems from Walker’s 2010 collection of poems, Hard Times Require Furious Dancing.

Told
My teacher
was told
by
her teacher –
who loved her:

You cannot
shoot guns
you cannot
drop bombs
your fists
are forbidden
to you
as are
mean and
hurtful
words
no matter
how
carefully chosen.

You have one
weapon
&
one weapon
only:

Use it.

It is
your
ability
to
teach.

I Know My Duty to Life (Excerpt)
I know
my duty
to life,

I was not
born
tomorrow;

how could
I know
how
hard
it
will be?

Our children
cooked
by
an
indifferent
sun

Once a Goddess;
now
through
negligence
& scanty praise
simply fire.

I know
my duty
to life,

to stop
wars
especially
those
I cause
within
myself.

Even So
Love, if it is love, never goes away.
It is embedded in us,
like seams of gold in the Earth,
waiting for light,
waiting to be struck.

