Truth Bomb Trails

Josh Stieber is a conscientious objector and Iraq War Veteran, serving from with the Bravo Company 2-16 in 2007 for a 14-month tour. Stieber joined the army based on the influence of his family, school and church. The promise of spreading democracy and freedom throughout the world resonated with Stieber. Soon after boot camp began he realized a conflict between his motivations and the ideology of the military. On his departure from military service, Stieber has shared his story widely – including this four part interview with the Real News Network.

I WENT DOWN TO THE MARKET
WHERE ALL THE WOMEN SHOP
I PULLED OUT MY MACHETE
AND I BEGAN TO CHOP
I WENT DOWN TO THE PARK
WHERE ALL THE CHILDREN PLAY
I PULLED OUT MY MACHINE GUN
AND I BEGAN TO SPRAY

In a 2010 interview with Slate, Stieber reflects on the process of psychological training…

View original post 357 more words

